“The Iron Fey” series is one of the best series I have read. I can’t explain why it was moving to me—maybe I saw myself in the main character; maybe I just read it at the right time in my life—but these books made me feel alive.

“The Iron Fey” series is composed of six novels and three novellas. The novels can be divided into three sections by narration: Meghan (books 1–3), Ash (book 4), and Ethan (books 5–6). The first three books are told from the point of view of Meghan Chase; the fourth being told from the point of view of Ash Tallyn, a prince of the winter court; and the last two from the perspective of Meghan’s young brother, Ethan Chase .

The series starts off with Meghan being called to The Nevernever: the world where fairies reside. Shortly into the series, it is revealed that Meghan is actually half-fey—the illegitimate daughter of Oberon, the king of the summer court.

The Iron Fey—a new race of fairies spawned through technology and the industrialization of the human world—are threatening to invade the Summer and Winter courts. Meghan is tasked with traveling to the iron fey realm in order to stop the growth of the empire. The books, as a whole, are largely about the political status of the Nevernever  and how the courts interact with each other.

I highly recommend the first three books. The author, Julie Kagawa, has managed to make Meghan a full-fledged character with flaws and doubts. And although I am kind of over the whole love-triangle thing, Kagawa has managed to make it bearable, if not fresh. The detail and imagination she has put into the settings and quests make the books a good read.

However, be warned: the end of the third book left me in tears, not wanting to believe what I had just read.

The fourth book was clearly tacked on, not originally meant to be written, but written because of reader revolt  (like when Sherlock Holmes died and Arthur Conan Doyle revived him because of riots). That being said, the author has brought the same amount of detail to the book which, although it did not need to be written, makes it still enjoyable.

I have no opinion on the last two novels as I haven’t read them. I do know that the last two books should have been separated and given a series of their own, rather than simply being added to the end of a successful series. Although taking place in the same world, the books do not feature any of the original characters. (Remember how Rick Riorden started a new series called “The Heroes of Olympus,” rather than simply adding books to the end of “Percy Jackson”? That’s what should have been done here.)

Nonetheless, the books are magical. They will sweep you up into a cocoon of hyperbole, simile, and metaphors, making you dream more vividly, look deeper into problems, and try your hardest to be better . Each character has elements of themselves that everyone can relate to. You will never be fully against or for any one character. You will simply want to see them through.


What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s